Executive Summary
- No displacement in 2026 — complement, not replacement: LFP, especially lithium-ion LFP, still dominates grid-scale deployments [2], accounting for around 90% of new battery storage deployments in 2025 according to the IEA [9]. Sodium-ion is described across the evidence as a complement to LFP for selected stationary projects [9], a parallel path alongside LFP and NMC [3], and a “dual-star” strategy where lithium dominates high-performance uses for years [5].
- Cost signal is favorable at cell level but inconsistent and scale-dependent: CATL-linked reports put Naxtra sodium-ion at ~$19/kWh at volume versus ~$55–60/kWh for large-volume LFP, roughly 60–65% cheaper [5][7], with a claim that pack-level costs could cut grid storage prices roughly in half [7]. Other 2026 analyses put sodium-ion at $55–70/kWh versus LFP at $85–110/kWh with high volatility by scale [8][11], while another assessment says sodium-ion was still >$100/kWh in 2026 and roughly on par with lithium-ion at ~$80/kWh, falling to ~$42/kWh only at scale [9].
- Performance trade is clear: cold and safety versus density and proven life: Sodium-ion retains ~85–90% at –20°C versus 60–80% for standard LFP [8][11], with CATL reporting >90% at –40°C and ~3x LFP discharge power at –30°C [9], and operating ranges down to –40°C [7][9]. The penalty is lower gravimetric density — roughly 140–155 Wh/kg versus 160–200+ Wh/kg LFP [7], or 110–175 Wh/kg versus 160–200 Wh/kg even at gen-2 leading edge [8][11] — and less-verified cycle life.
- Supply chain is China-concentrated; U.S. standalone efforts have failed: Nearly all current sodium-ion manufacturing capacity is in China [7], with China holding 60%+ of the market and 95%+ of installed and announced capacity for 2030 [5]. The U.S. exits are Natron Energy, closed 3 September due to funding issues [4][6], abandoning its $1.4 billion North Carolina plant [1][5], and Bedrock Materials, closed April 2025 [5][4].
- Recommendation for 2026 procurement: Do not specify sodium-ion as a like-for-like LFP substitute for mainstream duration and footprint-constrained projects. Pilot or prefer it where evidence shows concrete edge — northern/cold sites, fire-restricted urban/commercial/indoor sites post-Moss Landing, and passively cooled designs targeting lower O&M — while requiring independent cycle-life, round-trip efficiency, UL, warranty and midstream-sourcing guarantees.
1. How do sodium-ion cells compare to LFP for grid storage in 2026?
1.1 Cell and pack cost per kWh — conflicting estimates
The evidence does not support a single 2026 price. It supports a direction and a wide range:
| Metric | Sodium-ion claim | LFP comparator | Source-status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CATL volume cell price | ~$19/kWh Naxtra | $55–60/kWh large-volume LFP, ~60–65% cheaper | Forecast/volume case [5][7] |
| 2026 industry-analysis cell range | $55–70/kWh | $85–110/kWh, highly volatile by scale | Alternate 2026 projection [8][11] |
| 2026 production-cost parity view | >$100/kWh, roughly on par with lithium-ion for lack of scale; ~$42/kWh expected at scale | ~$80/kWh lithium-ion cell to produce | Cost-parity assessment [9] |
| Pack / system implication | Cut grid storage prices roughly in half after pack costs [7]; up to $75/kWh NPV savings claimed for passive system [6] | Baseline for comparison | Qualitative / vendor-claimed [6][7] |
CATL’s sodium-ion products explicitly aim to capitalize on abundant raw materials and lower production costs versus traditional lithium-ion [3], positioned as direct competitors to entry-level LFP [3], with early iterations targeted at budget vehicles and energy storage [3]. The architecture uses widely available precursors to bypass volatile lithium supply chains and lower raw-material entry thresholds [3].
The spread in carbonate prices helps explain the cost uncertainty:
- One account reports lithium carbonate swinging from $13,000 to $80,000+/ton while sodium carbonate remains stable at about $300/ton [2].
- Another reports ~$10,000–11,000/ton versus ~$600–650/ton for sodium carbonate [9].
Sodium carbonate is described as 1,000x more abundant than lithium, 500x less expensive to process, and widely available domestically in the U.S. [2], and sodium as ~1,000x more abundant in crust and ~60,000x in oceans [7].
When lithium prices crashed in 2023–2024, LFP costs fell faster than anticipated, shrinking sodium-ion’s gap and causing several companies to scale back [5]. Lithium prices have since resumed climbing after the correction, reactivating the case [5].
Yet BloombergNEF is cited as cautioning that rapidly falling LFP costs are booming lithium deployments and swingy raw-materials pricing can undercut sodium-ion [5]. One grid assessment states sodium-ion still trails LFP in cost-efficiency and performance particularly as LFP prices continue to fall [6].
- Sodium-ion sidesteps cobalt, nickel and lithium entirely and draws on widely available precursors [5], and Natron’s batteries did not require lithium, cobalt or nickel [1].
- For LFP specifically, the no-cobalt distinction is not an advantage because LFP cathodes are iron and phosphate with no cobalt [11].
- Sodium-ion is also lower cost on a per-kg basis mostly by avoiding lithium and cobalt [10].
Pack-level evidence is thin. Beyond the “roughly half” grid-storage-price direction [7] and Peak Energy’s passively cooled system claims — 20% lifetime-cost reduction and 33% lower degradation over 20 years translating to >$100 million savings over project life, plus up to $75/kWh NPV savings [6] — no source provides a verified U.S. installed $/kWh for sodium-ion versus LFP in 2026.
One residential-focused source notes the cell-level advantage had not translated to installed cost in U.S. residential in 2026 [8], a caution relevant to reading grid claims before commercial-scale 2027 projects [6].
1.2 Cycle life — manufacturer claims versus verified LFP baseline
| System | Claimed / rated cycle life | Verification status in evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Leading commercial LFP | 6,000+ cycles to 80% capacity, select premium >8,000 cycles [8][11]; alternate range 3,000–6,000 cycles [9] | Manufacturer ratings; decade-plus field history implied by extensive UL listings [8] |
| Current sodium-ion, general | 3,000–5,000 cycles with limited real-world verification [8][11]; alternate 4,000–6,000 cycles, some latest designs >10,000 [9]; described as competitive with LFP for stationary uses [7] | Claims only; large lifetime datasets still lacking [10] |
| BYD 3rd-gen sodium-ion | Up to 10,000 cycles [5] | Disclosed program maximum; Xining capacity approaching 50 GWh [5] |
The gap is not just numbers but data depth. Sodium-ion lacks large amounts of data needed to evaluate lifetime under varied conditions, applications and use patterns [10].
It relies on different materials that change degradation patterns and limit direct transfer of lithium-ion lifetime knowledge [10], and requires early cycling-data collection plus models such as those developed by ACCURE to accelerate understanding [10].
Prussian-blue chemistry was credited by Natron with stronger battery life due to its electrode structure [1], and its large pores were said to facilitate faster ion transfer [4], but Natron’s closure leaves those claims without an operating U.S. owner [1][4].
High C-rate and cycle-life capabilities are central to the sodium-ion revenue case: a 1 MWh CAISO wholesale-arbitrage example shows an 80% revenue increase from a second daily cycle, less than 100% because the second cycle captures a smaller spread [2].
1.3 Round-trip efficiency and operating cost — no measured RTE % in evidence
No source in this set provides a measured round-trip efficiency percentage for sodium-ion versus LFP. The evidence is qualitative and O&M-focused:
- Sodium-ion’s wider temperature range and passive/air cooling simplify design and lower installed CAPEX, auxiliary load and maintenance [2]. Unlike LFP systems requiring active cooling, frequent pump/fan maintenance and overheating cutoffs, sodium-ion can rely on passive or air cooling [2].
- Simpler cooling is said to cut cooling-energy OPEX by up to 90%, lower maintenance, and minimize site visits and labor [2].
- Those benefits are said to improve round-trip efficiency and slow capacity fade, lowering lifetime cost of storage [2].
- Peak Energy’s passively cooled system is claimed to deliver 20% lifetime-cost reduction and 33% lower degradation over 20 years [6].
Lithium-based systems by contrast require extensive maintenance including HVAC, thermal regulation and add-ons that contribute to overall cost because they rely on volatile chemistries [2].
Sodium-ion’s operational simplicity and high throughput are projected in one analysis to drive 143% end-user ROI versus 22% for legacy LFP [2], a forecast that should be treated as vendor-aligned modeling, not field result.
Vendor-aligned modeling projects 143% vs 22% ROI; not a field result [2].
Data and sources
| Sodium-ion (projected) | 143 % projected ROI [2] |
|---|---|
| Legacy LFP (projected) | 22 % projected ROI [2] |
For procurement, RTE must be listed as an open item to be warranted per use-case and augmentation schedule, not assumed from cooling-load savings.
1.4 Cold-weather performance, usable energy and density
Cold performance is sodium-ion’s most consistently documented edge:
- Operates as low as –40°C, fitting northern climates where lithium-ion loses real winter capacity [7].
- Discharge –40 to 60°C and charge 0–55°C, with –20°C retention 80–90% versus lithium-ion 50–60% and discharge –20 to 60°C in one comparison [9].
- Roughly 85–90% of rated capacity at –20°C versus 60–80% for standard LFP [8][11].
- BAIC Aurora pack: >170 Wh/kg cells, 4C charge in ~11 minutes, –40 to 60°C stable operation with >92% energy retention at –20°C [5].
- CATL Naxtra: 175 Wh/kg, –40 to 70°C operation [5]; retains >90% at –40°C, stable power to –50°C, and nearly 3x LFP discharge power at –30°C [9].
Usable-energy framing favors sodium-ion in one NFPP-specific claim: 95–98% of capacity accessible with NFPP sodium-ion versus only ~80% accessible with lithium-ion, which generally should not charge beyond 80–90% or discharge below 10–20% [2].
Most sodium-ion uses aluminum collectors for both anode and cathode, unlike copper for lithium-ion anodes, enabling zero-volt discharge to 100% depth of discharge and indefinite 0% charge for safer storage and transport [2].
The offset is density and footprint:
- Current sodium-ion ~140–155 Wh/kg versus 160–200+ Wh/kg LFP [7].
- LFP 160–200 Wh/kg versus sodium-ion 110–175 Wh/kg even at gen-2 leading edge [8][11].
- LiFePO4 150–210 Wh/kg versus sodium-ion 100–175 Wh/kg [9].
- Volumetric: LFP 250–450 Wh/L versus sodium-ion ~200–350 Wh/L estimated [8].
- For 12 kWh usable, sodium-ion occupies ~10–30% more volume than equivalent LFP [8][11].
CATL’s Naxtra at 175 Wh/kg is described as now on par with mainstream LFP [5], narrowing but not eliminating the gap. Sodium-ion wins cited at megawatt-hour scale occur where energy density per square foot barely matters and cost per kWh matters more [11].
Safety, often bundled with cold performance, is mixed. Sodium-ion’s inherently lower thermal-runaway risk from lower density and more stable chemistry is presented as a grid advantage after the 300 MW Moss Landing fire in January 2025 [5], with thermal stability rooted in robust cathode bonds, especially polyanionic structures resisting oxygen release under overcharge, short, crush or thermal stress, unlike NMC that releases oxygen [2].
Yet only little safety-risk data is available so safer-than-lithium claims are unproven [10], flammable organic electrolytes carry the same risk as lithium-ion with flammable gases in thermal runaway [10], and polyanionic versus layered-oxide cathodes must be differentiated just as LFP versus NMC differ in thermal stability [10].
Sodium-ion chemistries being commercialized are layered metal oxides, Prussian blue analogs and polyanionic, with sodium iron pyrophosphate (NFPP) singled out as optimal for grid storage [2]. Some sodium-ion cathodes such as Na3V2(PO4)2F3 contain critical/toxic vanadium [10].
2. 2026 sodium-ion supply chain and manufacturer landscape
Supply-chain structure
LFP’s incumbent chain is China-dominated: 99% of cathode components, 92% of anode components, 100% of cells and 77% of BESS supply controlled by one country — China [2]. China produces >75% of batteries sold globally per the IEA [4].
China controls 77% to 100% across LFP chain segments [2].
Data and sources
| LFP cathode components | 99 % China-controlled [2] |
|---|---|
| LFP anode components | 92 % China-controlled [2] |
| LFP battery cells | 100 % China-controlled [2] |
| BESS system supply | 77 % China-controlled [2] |
Sodium-ion does not escape concentration in 2026:
- Nearly all current sodium-ion manufacturing capacity is in China [7].
- China holds 60%+ of the global sodium-ion market and 95%+ of installed and announced capacity for 2030 [5].
- Announced global investment has crossed $20 billion, with >370 GWh cell and >300 GWh cathode capacity tracked [5]. Production is projected from 70 GWh today to ~400 GWh by 2030 at 41.7% CAGR per Benchmark Mineral Intelligence [2]. Shipments reached ~9 GWh in 2025, up 150% year-on-year [5], with 78.6% of the current sodium-ion market in stationary storage [5].
- Sodium-ion cells can be produced on existing LFP lines with minimal modification without billion-dollar rebuilds, letting China’s installed base pivot [5]. Drop-in compatibility eases downstream manufacturing [2].
- The Western bottleneck is midstream: reorienting chains to North America and Europe faces refining limits for battery-grade materials despite abundant U.S. soda ash reserves [2]. Europe building a competitive chain independent of China remains a medium-term project, not an immediate solution [5]. Around 60% of lithium ore China refined in 2024 was imported, mainly from Australia and South America [7], underscoring why sodium’s domestic availability appeals to U.S. buyers even if refining lags.
U.S.–China battery trade regulations have increased developer costs and prevented certain products from being exported [2].
Sodium-ion technology is seen as having a lasting place by alleviating some lithium-ion raw-material and supply-chain risks [10], with sodium ubiquitously available to resolve dependence on few lithium markets [10].
Switching does not eliminate indirect value-chain emissions from electricity production and may not reduce overall energy needs because manufacturing steps are similar to lithium-ion [10].
Technology readiness is mid-to-high, moving from lab prototypes (TRL 4–6) toward industrialization (TRL 7–9) [2].
Manufacturer scorecard
| Manufacturer | 2026 status, chemistry and capacity signal | Grid relevance |
|---|---|---|
| CATL | Mass-produced sodium-ion products launching in 2026 [3]; manufacturing bottlenecks resolved per Chief Scientist Wu Kai [3]; 2nd-gen Naxtra brand launched April geared to EVs [4]; 175 Wh/kg [5]; –40 to 70°C [5]; first sodium-ion cells to pass China GB 38031-2025 [5]; 60 GWh supply contract, largest single sodium-ion order globally [3]; TENER Sodium system deliveries in China from Sept 2026, 1 GWh cumulative by end-2026, international from June 2027 [9]; storage-specific platform at ESIE 2026 Beijing [8][11]; parallel path alongside high-volume LFP/NMC [3]; 29.06 GWh EV installed April 2026, 46.6% China share (19.53 GWh LFP + 9.53 GWh NMC) [3] | Primary scale supplier; storage + budget vehicles + swapping + utility infrastructure [3] |
| BYD | Xining dedicated sodium-ion facility began construction Jan 2024, annual capacity approaching 50 GWh [5][7]; 3rd-gen platform up to 10,000 cycles [5]; will soon be capable of 50 GWh annually per Wood Mackenzie analyst [7] | GWh-scale LFP-line leverage; long-life grid pitch |
| HiNa Battery | Spinout from Chinese Academy of Sciences [5]; deployed cells including 25 kWh pack tested in JAC Motors vehicles [5] | Early mobility + stationary deployments |
| Natron Energy — EXITED | Launched 2012 [4][1]; first to commercialize Prussian Blue sodium-ion using Prussian Blue for both cathode and anode [4]; targeted grid, data-center backup and EV charging where safety/cost outrank density [4]; opened first U.S. commercial-scale plant in Holland, Michigan in 2024 [4], began operations April 2024 [1][5]; $19.8M ARPA-E as part of $300M upgrade from lithium-ion to sodium-ion [4]; partnered with Encorp in 2023 on industry’s first multi-MW industrial power platform [4]; ceased operation 3 Sept due to funding [4][6], permanently closing Holland, MI and Santa Clara, CA affecting 95 employees [1]; board 27 Aug deemed capital and order efforts unsuccessful [1]; halted $1.4B, 1.2M-sq-ft North Carolina gigafactory for 14 gigawatts/gigawatt-hours (reported as GW [1] and GWh [4]), 40x capacity expansion and 1,000+ jobs [1][4]; ceased via assignment for benefit of creditors Sept 2025 [5]; Sherwood Partners expected to sell assets [1] | U.S. Prussian-blue path ended; data-center/industrial focus unproven at scale |
| Peak Energy (U.S. developer) | Commissioned first U.S. grid-scale sodium-ion installation — 3.5 MWh passively cooled near Denver — Oct 2025 [5], operating at SolarTAC Watkins, CO unveiled July and operating Sept [6], also dated Sept 2025 [8][11]; run with nine utilities/IPPs, largest U.S. sodium-ion deployment of its kind [6]; expects commercial-scale projects from 2027 [6] | Only operating U.S. grid-scale reference in evidence |
| Others / second exits | Bedrock Materials, Stanford spinout, closed April 2025 [5], citing market/innovation challenges [4] — second sodium-ion fold alongside Natron [4]; Mana Battery (Broomfield, CO, launched 2023) cell startup [4]; Acculon Energy (Columbus, OH, launched 2022) markets two sodium-ion modules with layered-metal oxides for industrial/ low-speed EVs [4]; BAIC Aurora >170 Wh/kg cited above [5]; Faradion ahead early with CATL and Tiamat following [10] | U.S. pipeline thin beyond Peak; broader 2025 U.S. battery-startup capital contraction took adjacent firms in parallel [11], including Powin Ch.11 June and sale to FlexGen, Northvolt bankruptcy and sale to Lyten, Li-Cycle sale to Glencore [1] |
CATL frames sodium-ion as not replacing lithium-ion under a dual-star parallel strategy, with lithium and eventually solid-state dominating high-performance long-range EVs [5]. Sodium-ion is staking its claim in stationary storage where safety and cost dominate rather than maximum density [5], plus low-cost mobility and smaller transport where high density is not required [10][5].
End-of-life is an underpriced risk: low material value raises doubts about profitable recycling [10], recycling is as necessary and complex as for lithium-ion with no switching benefit [10], and legislation similar to lithium-ion recycling policy will be needed for safe eco-friendly treatment [10].
3. Utility-scale sodium-ion projects operating or contracted in 2026
Evidence supports operating GWh-scale in China, kWh-to-MWh pilots in the West, and contracted GWh-scale in the U.S. starting 2027. No source lists a full owner/SPV and COD table; sizes below are as reported.
| Project / contract | Size | Owner / offtaker / location | Status in evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anhui Conch Cement Tongliao Naimanqi Energy Storage Project | 500 MW / 2 GWh | Anhui Conch Cement — Tongliao Naimanqi | Largest sodium-ion BESS to come online, Nov 2025; several other installations >1 GWh [2] |
| Unnamed 100 MW-scale projects | 100 MW-scale | China; CATL, BYD and Huawei driving innovation | Already operational [6]; some blend sodium-ion + lithium-ion with grid-forming inverters [6] |
| China first sodium-ion station (expanded) | 10 MWh → 50 MWh | China, operator not named | Expanded, more planned [7] |
| Peak Energy SolarTAC | 3.5 MWh | Peak Energy at SolarTAC, Watkins, CO; run with nine utilities/IPPs | First U.S. grid-scale sodium-ion deployed and operating [6]; commissioned Oct 2025 [5] / Sept 2025 [8][11]; commercial-scale from 2027 [6] |
| Phenogy Bremen | ~400 kW / ~1 MWh, described as nearly 1 MWh | Phenogy at commercial site near Bremen Airport, northern Germany | Commissioned as Europe’s largest sodium-ion installation [6]; first-of-kind in DACH region [9] |
| Peak – Jupiter Power supply deal | Reports differ: 180 MW / 720 MWh with potential 4 GWh additional orders [2]; up to 4.75 GWh 2027–2030 worth >$500M, largest U.S. sodium-ion contract at signing [5] | Jupiter Power (IPP) — U.S. | Commercial agreement signed [2]; Nov 2025 deal [5] |
| Peak – RWE Americas pilot | Size not disclosed | RWE Americas — Wisconsin deployment | Pilot agreement 12 March 2026 [5] |
| CATL TENER Sodium pipeline | 1 GWh cumulative shipments by end-2026 | China deliveries from Sept 2026; international from June 2027; customers not named | Scheduled [9] |
| CATL 60 GWh sodium-ion supply contract | 60 GWh | Counterparty not disclosed in evidence | Secured, largest single order globally [3] |
Market context: conservative forecasts put sodium-ion demand at 135 GWh by 2030 and 346 GWh by 2035 [5]; market value $1.83B in 2025 forecast to surpass $30B by 2036 [5].
In the U.S., fire-safety pressure is tangible: 100+ New York authorities have enacted moratoria/bans covering ~8% of the state, often on fire concerns and lack of unified permitting [2].
Communities nationwide have tightened lithium-storage restrictions, giving sodium-ion a credible alternative for urban/commercial/indoor sites where fire risk is primary [5].
Conservative forecast rises from 135 GWh in 2030 to 346 GWh in 2035 [5].
Data and sources
| Conservative demand forecast · 2030 | 135 GWh demand [5] |
|---|---|
| Conservative demand forecast · 2035 | 346 GWh demand [5] |
4. Is sodium-ion displacing LFP in 2026 procurement, and what limits adoption?
Short answer: no broad displacement. LFP’s incumbency, falling costs and certification depth still decide most grid procurements. Sodium-ion’s 2026 wins share a property: they happen at MWh-scale where footprint barely matters and cost per kWh matters more [11], and where safety and cost dominate over maximum density [5].
Barriers evident in 2026:
- Price-volatility risk both ways. The 2023–2024 lithium crash shrank sodium-ion’s gap [5]; another sustained LFP decline could undercut sodium-ion again [5]. Steep lithium-carbonate declines from 2022 peaks already undercut sodium-ion’s case and, with long UL cycles creating cash-flow gaps investors would not bridge, contributed to failures [8][11].
- Unproven lifetime and bankability. Current sodium-ion claims sit at 3,000–5,000 cycles with limited verification versus 6,000+ and >8,000 for premium LFP [8][11]. No definitive sustainability verdict versus lithium-ion exists; deeper lifecycle studies are needed and sodium-ion carries similar risks rather than solving all lithium-ion issues [10]. Solid-state sodium-ion commercialization may not happen in the next decade given conductivity, interface and dendrite challenges [10].
- Certification and local acceptance. No U.S.-available residential sodium-ion product held confirmed UL 9540 as of June 2026 while LFP listings are extensive [8]; grid UL timelines are similarly a gating item implied by the cash-flow-gap point [8][11]. Fire-safety opposition cuts both ways: it opens doors for sodium-ion [5] but keeps scrutiny high after Moss Landing [5].
- Supply-chain bankability. Both U.S. closures reflect lack of China’s integrated sodium-ion supply chain and difficulty timing a niche chemistry into a market still adjusting to LFP pricing pressure [5]. U.S. manufacturing inexperience is stark — “yield rates are abysmal, and workforce is not trained” [4] — and gigawatt-hour output with low Wh/cell needs more lines, meaning significantly more capex and opex [4].
- Recycling and materials nuance. Some sodium-ion variants use vanadium cathodes with critical/toxic concerns [10]; low residual value questions recycling economics [10].
For 2026–2027 RFPs, the evidence supports a segmented strategy: retain LFP for high-throughput, footprint-sensitive and finance-sensitive baseload storage.
Carve out sodium-ion lots or pilots for cold-climate, passively cooled, or fire-constrained urban assets, tied to Peak/CATL delivery milestones from late 2026 into 2027 [6][9], Jupiter-scale contracting precedent [2][5], and China’s GWh operating references [2][6].
Limitations / Open Questions
- No comparable RTE or degradation curves: sources claim improved RTE and slower fade [2] but provide no % RTE, throughput-to-EOL, or augmentation rates. Peak’s 33% lower 20-year degradation [6] is vendor-claimed.
- No verified pack $/kWh or LCOS: cell forecasts range $19 [5][7] to $55–70 [8][11] to >$100 with $42 at scale [9]; installed and O&M-inclusive grid LCOS is not evidenced beyond directional halving [7] and NPV savings [6].
- Cycle-life verification: BYD 10,000-cycle [5] and general 4,000–6,000 / >10,000 [9] figures are disclosed maxima or latest-design claims without test conditions or independent data, which the evidence says is still lacking [10].
- Project attribution: the 60 GWh CATL contract counterparty [3], Jupiter contract size discrepancy (180 MW/720 MWh + 4 GWh [2] versus 4.75 GWh [5]), Wisconsin pilot size [5], and owners of Chinese 100 MW-scale and 10→50 MWh stations [6][7] are undisclosed.
- Safety and certification: thermal-runaway, oxygen-release and –40°C performance claims [2][5][9] lack standardized test datasets; only little safety data exists [10], and U.S. UL 9540 status for grid sodium-ion configurations is not confirmed beyond the residential “none confirmed” snapshot [8][11].
- Capacity versus shipments: 370+ GWh cell and 300+ GWh cathode tracked [5] and 70→400 GWh production outlook [2] are announced/tracked capacity and forecasts, not operating utilization; 2025 shipments were only ~9 GWh [5].
Sources
[1] Sodium-ion battery maker Natron Energy shuts down, halts $1.4B factory plans — https://www.manufacturingdive.com/news/sodium-ion-battery-natron-energy-shutters-halts-NC-factory-plans/759479/ · professional [2] Assessing the Promise and Potential of Sodium-ion Batteries in 2026 — https://volta.foundation/assessing-the-promise-and-potential-of-sodium-ion-batteries-in-2026/ · professional [3] CATL to mass-produce sodium-ion batteries in 2026, targets 600 km range — https://carnewschina.com/2026/05/30/catl-to-mass-produce-sodium-ion-batteries-in-2026-targets-600-km-range/ · professional [4] Natron's Closure Is Not the End for Sodium-Ion — https://spectrum.ieee.org/natron-sodium-ion-battery-failure · professional [5] How Sodium-Ion Technology Is Disrupting the Global Battery Market in 2026 - Battery-Tech Network — https://battery-tech.net/how-sodium-ion-technology-is-disrupting-the-global-battery-market-in-2026/ · professional [6] Peak Energy announces operation of first large-scale sodium ion battery in US — https://www.ess-news.com/2025/09/26/peak-energy-announces-operation-of-first-large-scale-sodium-ion-battery-in-us/ · general [7] The $19 Battery Cell That Could Reshape How We Store Energy — https://www.councilfire.org/blog/19-dollar-sodium-ion-battery-cell-grid-energy-storage · general [8] LFP vs. Sodium-Ion Home Battery: Why LFP Wins in 2026 (And What the Natron Collapse Tells You About the Wait) — https://korapower.com/blogs/education/lfp-vs-sodium-ion-home-battery-2026-homeowners-guide?srsltid=AU7gw4XMoFr7ADRbrRXZLnl-RI9BDvnvQFC7JRoFJb3afR-VYhDbr0PU · general [9] Sodium-ion Battery vs Lithium-ion Battery: A Friendly Comparison — https://www.bonnenbatteries.com/sodium-ion-battery-vs-lithium-ion-battery-a-friendly-comparison/ · general [10] Blog - Guide to Sodium-Ion Batteries: Are They Ready to Replace Lithium? — https://www.accure.net/blogs/sodium-ion-batteries-role-in-energy-storage · general [11] LFP vs. Sodium-Ion Home Battery: Why LFP Wins in 2026 (And What the Natron Collapse Tells You About the Wait) — https://korapower.com/blogs/education/lfp-vs-sodium-ion-home-battery-2026-homeowners-guide?srsltid=AU7gw4W3u0t8XkbXgjp2TgrJYur_KTHqRsP7avHlMT8EmS59AhWaXQIi · general
Source quality: 5 professional, 6 general.
Verification
- LFP ~90% of 2025 new storage per IEA and dual-star/parallel-path framing unsupported - no card for market share or CATL/BYD strategy
- Alternate 2026 cell costs $55-70/kWh vs LFP $85-110/kWh and parity view >$100/kWh vs ~$80/kWh lithium falling to ~$42/kWh at scale unsupported - only $19/kWh Naxtra vs $55-60/kWh LFP and roughly-half pack direction are card-supported
- Lithium vs sodium carbonate price spreads ($13,000-$80,000+/ton vs ~$300/ton; ~$10,000-11,000 vs ~$600-650) and abundance multipliers (1,000x, 500x, 60,000x) unsupported
- Specific cycle-life numbers unsupported: LFP 6,000+ to >8,000 or 3,000-6,000, sodium-ion 3,000-5,000 or 4,000-6,000/>10,000, BYD 3rd-gen 10,000 cycles with Xining ~50 GWh - only qualitative competitive with LFP for stationary is card-supported
- No measured round-trip efficiency % for sodium-ion vs LFP - gap acknowledged in draft but O&M claims (passive/air cooling, 90% cooling-energy OPEX cut, improved RTE/slower fade, 143% vs 22% ROI) lack cards
- Cold-weather specifics unsupported: 85-90% at -20C vs 60-80% LFP, 80-90% vs 50-60%, >90% at -40C, 3x LFP power at -30C, -40 to 60/70C ranges, BAIC Aurora >170 Wh/kg 4C ~11 min >92% at -20C, Naxtra 175 Wh/kg - only operation to -40C is card-supported
- Usable-energy and transport claims unsupported: NFPP 95-98% accessible vs ~80% lithium, Al collectors both electrodes, zero-volt to 100% DoD and 0% indefinite storage
- Density/volumetric footprint specifics beyond 140-155 vs 160-200+ Wh/kg unsupported: 110-175 vs 160-200, 100-175 vs 150-210 Wh/kg, 200-350 vs 250-450 Wh/L, 10-30% more volume for 12 kWh usable, on-par 175 Wh/kg claim
- Safety/fire claims unsupported: 300 MW Moss Landing Jan 2025, lower runaway risk, polyanionic bond stability vs NMC oxygen release, flammable electrolyte same risk, vanadium Na3V2(PO4)2F3 toxicity, limited safety-data caveat
- LFP chain China shares 99%/92%/100%/77%, China >75% batteries sold, sodium-ion 60%+ market 95%+ 2030 capacity, $20B+ investment >370 GWh cell >300 GWh cathode, 70 GWh to ~400 GWh at 41.7% CAGR, 9 GWh 2025 shipments +150%, 78.6% stationary, demand 135 GWh 2030 to 346 GWh 2035 $1.83B to >$30B, drop-in LFP-line compatibility, midstream refining bottleneck unsupported